There’s just something about Mad Hatters Uganda.

Hello Lovelies!

It’s hump day and I woke up in the mood to FINALLY tell you guys about my happy place (at the moment) with the hope that it will bring you as much joy and happiness as it has me over the last 11 months. It all started with karaoke (surprise surprise, I know, considering my love affairs usually start with food). Fun fact: Karaoke is the second shortcut to my heart.  I love to croak my lungs out; particularly after a stressful week. Apologies to everyone whose eardrums I’ve injured during my sessions.

Anyway, several karaoke sessions in, what started as a bi-weekly thing somehow grew into a full blown love affair. This lovely little place won a place in my heart.

Why, you ask?

First and foremost is the ambience. The setup of the place is fun and quirky which automatically has you feeling at ease when you walk through their gates. You are greeted by warm smiles from pretty much every member of the team who remembers your face and perhaps even your name from the last time you visited. If you’re a regular like me, they even remember your drink orders and are happy to make recommendations based on your order history. We all love to feel special. Even better, are the familiar faces you’ll start to notice (real recognizes real). The music is never too loud, so you don’t have to worry about having to raise your voice to be heard. The sound of laughter, soft music and conversation fills the air screaming, “Good vibes only!” I love it. 🙂

And then there’s the food. I can’t put my finger on a favorite favorite but I’ll tell you about the ones I find myself frequently craving (and recommending); in no particular order.

  • The pizza. I can’t think of a single place in Kampala that makes pizza with nearly as much love as the chefs over at Mad Hatters do. It’s interesting how all those flavours come together. It’s pizza lovers’ heaven. I haven’t tried every single pizza on the menu (I’m one of those who stops experimenting the minute I find something I love) but if I were to recommend any, it would be the Alice in Wonderland and the Chicken Parmesan, which I hear is a crowd favorite. I usually get half and half, for the best of both worlds. I quite like the Weird Willie as well, but mostly because I’m a sucker for Mrs Balls chutney. Every one I’ve recommended it to hasn’t really understood it. Oh and the vegetarian options are really good too.
Mad Hatters pizza; half ‘Weird Willie, half ‘Alice in Wonderland’
  • THE BUTTERNUT SOUP (shouty capitals for emphasis). My oh my oh my. Tell you what? There are no words to properly describe this creamy goodness. I pretty much have a mouthgasm with every spoonful.
  • The chicken wings. I love that they’re served in a basket. I love the home fries that come with them. I love that there are so many wings in the basket (nothing like the usual three or four) and I love that they come in two flavours. I’d usually go for the masala wings when I need a snack to compliment my alcoholic beverage(s) and the barbecue ones when I’m in the mood for a coke.
Mad Hatters Kampala Masala chicken wings basket

Ps. To all my ribs loving people, they’ve very recently been added to the menu. I haven’t had the chance to try them yet (even though I  go at least twice a week) because I have a very hard time deviating from the familiar. But the next time I go, I think I’ll give them a try. I’ll be sure to let you know what I think in my instagram stories so let’s connect! 🙂

Have you been to Mad Hatters? Do you love it as much as I do?

2 Comments

Leave a comment